Scholarship Programme of the City of Kiel for students from Kiel’s Twin Cities for studying at Kiel University

The City of Kiel has a longstanding tradition of offering scholarships for a 10-month study period at Kiel University. The regulations for these scholarships have recently been modified. Now, students from universities in Kiel’s twin cities are eligible for applying. The scholarships aim at fostering the close relationship between the City of Kiel and its twin cities as well as at supporting talented international students in order to strengthen their interest in academic study and research. Starting from the summer semester 2019, scholarships for one semester are also possible.

Further information about the scholarships of Kiel City (pdf)

For each academic year, eight semester scholarships or four full-year scholarships are available.

Only students who have been nominated by their home universities are able to apply. Thus, direct applications are not possible.

Further information regarding application requirements and procedures (pdf)

Besides, more information can be obtained at the international offices of the home universities. Exclusively international students from the following list of universities are eligible for applying for the scholarship programme of the City of Kiel:

  • Aarhus University/Denmark
  • Tallinn University/Estonia
  • Tallinn University of Technology/Estonia
  • Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University, Kaliningrad/Russia
  • Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest/France
  • The University of Warwick, Coventry/United Kingdom
  • Coventry University/United Kingdom
  • University of Vaasa/Finland
  • University of Business and Administration, Gdynia/Poland
  • Gdynia Maritime University/Poland
  • Ondokuz Mayis University, Samsun/Turkey
  • University of California, San Francisco/USA
  • San Francisco State University/USA