Schedule

Thursday, May 14
Arrival of all students at the International Center (IC), Westring 400, Kiel If you arrive in Hamburg: Please check out the bus schedule of the Kielius-Bus (shuttle bus from Hamburg airport to Kiel main train/ bus station) at www.kielius.de.
Bus lines 61/62, 81/82 or 91/92 will take you directly to bus stop "Universität Westring", which is across the street from the International Center.
Afterwards: transfer to the dormitories
Information about the dormitories:
Wirtschaftsakademie (German only)
Note: Upon arrival at the IC, a bus ticket will be provided by representatives of the University of Kiel.
 
Friday, May 15
11 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Orientation Day
The Orientation Program will include:
- information about the program and about your stay in Kiel
- lunch
- a guided city tour
- aquarium
- welcome dinner


Saturday, May 16 and Sunday, May 17
Days of rest. Time for grocery shopping.
Meet the tutors!

Monday, May 18
First day of classes
Lunch with the tutors
 
Wednesday, May 20
Courses
at 5 p.m. visit of the Marine Museum
 
Thursday, May 21
no courses!
 

Friday, May 22
Excursion to  Hamburg
In the North of Germany and in the heart of Europe; Hamburg is Germany's second largest city (1.8 million inhabitants) and offers an excellent quality of life and international flair. Hamburg is ranked in the TOP 20 most liveable cities in the world alongside Vancouver, Melbourne and Sydney (The Economist) and is in 6th place in the TOP 10 most fun cities worldwide (GoEuro). We are sure you will love it too...

Saturday, May 23 und Sunday, May 24
Time for individual travelling

Thursday, May 29 to Monday, June 2
Excursion to Berlin
After the fall of the Wall, Berlin became the capital of unified Germany and a building boom began in the 1990s that included more than 30 major construction works in the east of the city. It has also become to be considered by many as the cultural capital of Central and Eastern Europe, excelling in every field but in particular those of dance/electronic music, contemporary art and dance, and classical and orchestral music. Berlin has three opera houses, over 150 theatres and playhouses, over 170 museums and collections and over 200 private galleries. Berlin also occupies a special place in Europe as an extremely liberal, socially progressive and tolerant city, placed in the heart of the continent, where East meets West.

Friday, June 5
Excursion to Lübeck
Visit with us one of the best preserved medieval cities in Schleswig-Holstein with its fascinating history. Lübeck was home to the famous author Thomas Mann (Die Buddenbrooks) and is well known for the Niederegger Marzipan.

 

Saturday, June 6
Sailing with the International Center's sailing boat

Theater?

Saturday, June 7 (evening)
 

Monday, June 8
Courses
Lunch with tutors

Wednesday, June 10
Courses
If the weather is good enough: Picnic in Laboe - incl. submarine and marine memorial

Friday, June 12 (optional)
Time for individual travelling

or optional:
Excursion to Schleswig and the Viking settlement of Haithabu

Saturday, June 13 und Sunday, June 14
Time for individual travelling

Wednesday, June 18
Farewell-dinner

Thursday, June 29
Depature of students
 
Please note: If you are intersted in staying over the week-end (until June 22), please inform the co-ordinator early in advance.
 
Throughout the program, we will have several extracurricular acitivties, e.g. historic city tours, visits to the art gallery or trips to the surroundings of Kiel.